Can Telugu Titans Finally Win the Pro Kabaddi Title in 2019?

Telugu Titans Reworked Logo

The seventh edition of the Pro Kabaddi League will begin on the 20th of July with a double header. Telugu Titans will be taking on the formidable U-Mamba at Hyderabad, while current champions Bengaluru Bulls will be matching skills with three-time champions Patna Pirates. There are a total of 12 teams in the league this season and each team will be playing the other teams in the fray twice. After the league games, the 6 teams that are having the highest points will be moving on to the playoffs that will decide the winners this year.

Telugu Titans have a completely rejigged team for their attempt at the 2019 Pro Kabaddi title. The Telugu Titans were already one of the most active raiding teams with Rahul Chaudhari last season. However, the fans will be missing this familiar face in the yellow jersey this time around as he has transferred to the Tamil Thalaivas this season. The addition of Siddharth Desai for a whopping 1.45 crores will, however, provide an additional impetus to the already strong Hyderabad based team.

A Rejigged Team

The Telugu Titans have played each season of the Pro Kabaddi League right since its inception in the year 2014. This year they will be playing U-Mamba (the team from Mumbai) in the opening draw for the Pro Kabaddi League. The Telugu Titans Match against U-Mamba will be closely watched to see how their biggest buy Siddharth Desai will do against his former teammates! They have also brought in the former U-Mamba coach, Gholamreza Mazandarani as their head coach and this should spice up the opening night match further.

The rejigged Telugu Titans team will be low on experience in the raiding unit this year, but, should make up for it due to the lack of baggage from past failures. The presence of the Desai brothers (the elder brother Suraj Desai is also a part of the team) will help the team to greater glories. The defence core has been retained with the ever-reliable Abozar Mohajermighani and Vishal Bhardwaj.  They have added C.Arun to the defence team, and this should provide further strength to their defensive capabilities.

Inconsistent Titans

The team needs to shed of their years of inconsistency where they have qualified for the playoffs only twice in the 7 seasons so far, despite having the strongest raiding unit. With Pro Kabaddi League 2019 commencing on July 20th, the fans will be keenly looking forward to creating some noise for the new look team.  Despite finishing a low 6th last season, the fans would want this team to go all the way this year and bring some pride to Hyderabad.

Veera Sports led by Srinivas Sreeramaneni and backed by Mahesh Kolli, Anil Kumar and Gautham Reddy are the owners of Telugu Titans right since inception, and they would hope that this year the team shows results of all the years of investment in the team. With a catchphrase “Together we are one”, the Telugu Titans need to show the spirit of unity to capture the title this year!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.